Absolute Divorce In North Carolina
Divorce as a family matter is a painful, difficult and trying process. However, as a legal matter, divorce can be done rather quickly and efficiently with the help of an attorney.
In North Carolina, the actual termination of a marriage is called Absolute Divorce. This is the only issue that you must wait one year to resolve – issues of custody, support and property division can and should be handled sooner. However, once an Absolute Divorce is granted, you lose the legal right to have the court determine alimony and equitable distribution (property division) so you need to ensure that you either have pending claims for them or a resolution to those matters through a separation and property agreement or a court order from a prior lawsuit.
North Carolina recognizes no-fault divorce. In other words, whether both spouses or only one spouse wants the divorce, the divorce will be granted as long as there has been a physical separation for more than one year. Neither you nor your spouse can prevent the divorce from being granted if the two of you have been physically separated for more than one year and at least one of you separated with the intent to remain permanently separate and apart.
How Can We Help
The office of Lesnik Family Law P.C. is more than willing to assist you with obtaining a judgment of Absolute Divorce. It is our goal to simplify the process and make it as painless for you as possible. We will complete all necessary paperwork and attend the hearing in your place; you will not be required to attend court and miss a day of work. As part of this service, we are willing to conduct consultations by phone or e-mail so that you do not need to make a trip to the office if you do not wish to do so. However, we are certainly willing to meet with you to discuss the process and your options and we would be more than happy to schedule a consultation with you.
The fee for an Absolute Divorce is a one-time flat fee of $900 for an Absolute Divorce in Wake County, North Carolina, which includes all court costs and a one-time service fee. Divorces outside of Wake County are $1,200 (Must be within 50 miles of Wake County). Payment can be made online by credit card on our website or by check. A time can also be arranged for you to drop off your paperwork and payment with the attorney if preferred.
You will receive confirmation of any payment and receipt of the payment and documentation from the attorney. The attorney will be available to speak with you or by e-mail for any questions or concerns you may have.